Donate Now


Setting the Example

Our Awards Ceremony celebrates the academic brilliance and high aspirations of our scholarship recipients, but also the lifelong achievements of a distinguished Greek American whose career and accomplishments are a testimony to the Foundationís mission and who serves as an example for our students to follow. This latter individual receives the Foundation's Paradigm Award, for exemplary service in his or her respective field, and for making the Hellenic community proud.


2017 - JOHN PAPPAJOHN, Entrepreneur, Philanthropist, and Business Leader

2016 - JOHN S. KOUDOUNIS, CEO of Calamos Investments

2015 - DEAN KARNAZES, Athlete, Speaker, Bestselling Author, Entrepreneur

2014 - JAMES D. SPEROS, Executive Vice President & Chief Creative Officer at Fidelity Investments

2012 - ALEXANDER PAYNE, Writer, Director, Producer

2010 - FRANCES FRAGOS TOWNSEND, Former White House Homeland Security Advisor

2009 - DR. THANASIS ECONOMOU, NASA Senior Planetary Scientist

2008 - DR. PETER H. DIAMANDIS, Founder and Chairman of X-Prize Foundation

2007 - JOHN P. CALAMOS, SR., Chairman and CEO of Calamos Investments

2006 - DR. CONSTANTINE PAPADAKIS, Drexel University President

2005 - MICHAEL BILIRAKIS, U.S. Representative

2005 - PAUL SARBANES, U.S. Senator
"Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be translated into benefit for everyone and greater strength for our nation."