Donate Now


The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Four Year Scholarship Grant
Two Students receive $80,000 over four years



The PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation (PHSF) has been given a Grant by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF).  With this Grant, PHSF will award two of this year's freshmen scholarship recipients to receive $10,000 each, every year for the next four years.  In awarding the scholarships, the SNF Board of Directors states:


The Board of Directors of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation is pleased to have had the opportunity to support the PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation by approving a grant for two four-year scholarships. The scholarships, which will support high achieving students in financial need, fulfill one of the Foundation's main goals, namely, to support and promote access to quality education for all and reward academic excellence worldwide.  


While changing lives, the PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation invests in the future of America as these Greek-Americans, equipped with a top education and endowed with their Hellenic values, are poised to become tomorrow's leaders and contributors to their community and to this great country.  This year, the Foundation will offer twenty $10,000 awards based on financial need and twenty $2,500 awards based on merit, for a total of $250,000, provided that all winners have first met its high academic performance criteria. 


In accepting the Scholarship Grant, Chris Tomaras, Chairman of the PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation said: “It is a significant honor to be recognized by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation to award the first ever Stavros Niarchos Foundation Four Year Scholarship to two of our scholarship recipients.  These brilliant, hardworking young Hellenes face astronomical tuitions that can cripple their families with financial debt.  This Grant will be a life changing event for two worthy scholarship recipients.”


2010 Awards Gala - Hilton Chicago

This year's annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony and Gala will take place on Saturday, November 13 at the Hilton Chicago.  Frances Fragos Townsend will be our Paradigm Award Recipient and Lou Canellis will be the emcee of the event.  Entertainment will be provided by the Chris Sarlas Orchestra with a special appearance by Lexy and Stephany Prodromos.